top of page
  • Melania Zilo

Practice Your Love Language on Yourself

Updated: Oct 30, 2020

A little reminder and guide to applying the five love languages to self-love. Be kind to yourself, gentle with your soul, and accept every inch of you that makes you, you.

In Gary Chapman's book "The 5 Love Languages", he identifies the different ways we love. Keep scrolling to see them applied to our self-love practice.

Words of Affirmation

Whether it's practicing positive self-talk or repeating positive affirmations to yourself throughout the day, our thoughts precede our behavior and actions. You wouldn't say mean things about your significant other or your best friend, so don't do that to yourself either. It's all about being your own cheerleader and learning how to become your #1 motivator.

Acts of Service

This looks different for everyone. For me, it's about doing things that make my mind and body feel good. Making sure I take my vitamins, stay hydrated, move my body, and eat with intention...


Treat yourself, baby. Buy things that make you happy, invest in travel, make time for your education, treat yourself to new experiences. Gift yourself the gift of living to the fullest.

Physical Touch

Stretch every morning gently, massage your face, moisturize your body, bathe in the sun, sweat, bathe, get comfortable with your body, soak in all that self-love.

Quality Time

Remember to take a moment to be present with yourself. Dedicate time to check in with your well being, and only do things that bring you joy. Don't allow everyone to have access to you. Make rest a priority. Put yourself first always.

Love always,

Melania Zilo

Most Recent Reads 

bottom of page